Yoga Therapy at Niroga group 1
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Mahavakyas--Will

Go down

Mahavakyas--Will Empty Mahavakyas--Will

Post by willmeecham@gmail.com Mon Feb 22, 2016 7:44 pm

Dear Group One: I apologize for the length of what follows. I ended up writing a personal history around this assignment. I'll try to be more concise in the future. --Will

Tat Tvam Asi (That Thou Art)

Though I didn’t hear this particular phrasing until six or seven years ago, I’ve been grappling with concepts like it since 1987. That’s when 12-step programs encouraged me to seek a ‘higher power’. As the son of a convinced (and convincing) atheist, I felt uncomfortable with language about God. On the other hand, I was determined to recover from my addictions. That same year I moved to New York and settled—serendipitously—just four blocks from the Quaker Meeting House in lower Manhattan. Since many of my ancestors had been Quakers, I decided to give their worship a try. What I encountered was more meditative than religious: meetings were almost entirely silent, and rarely did anyone mention the ‘G’ word. I had found a spiritual home.

During Quaker meetings I pondered science and spirituality, looking for ways to combine them. After undergraduate, graduate, and medical study of biology, I wasn’t about to abandon my scientific world view, but I yearned for a deeper sense of meaning. I sometimes obsessed to the point of exhaustion, but the effort slowly paid off. I accumulated a measure of clarity.

It began to seem obvious that from a scientific perspective there's no controversy in saying: ‘All Is One’ ( my equivalent—at the time—to ‘That Thou Art’). Our bodies evolved out of the material of this planet, which itself was the product of billions of years of cosmic unfolding. In other words, we grew out of the earth, which grew out of the Big Bang. Without doubt, whatever the universe is, we are also.